2016 Individual Regional Information


Information on registering and competing in the 2016 Individual Regional tournaments is now posted here.  Last year over 800 scholastic players in grades K-12 competed at the regional level for the opportunity to advance to the State Finals.  Last years High School Champion, Sean Vibbert, earned $7000 in scholarships during high SCI career! Regional tournaments will […]

SCI Girls Championships Conclude

The 2015 SCI Girls State Championship saw 15 young ladies compete for the opportunity to play in the Susan Polgar Foundation Girls’ Invitational and  the USCF National Girls Invitational tournaments this summer. Top seeded, 7th grade student from Canterbury School in Ft. Wayne, Peishanika Arnold scored a perfect 4-0 to claim the championship.  Arnold will compete in […]

2015 Team State Finals

Over 600 players assembled at Woodrow Wilson Middle School in Terre Haute to compete for the 2015 SCI Team Championships on March 21, 2015. Teams qualified over the past several weekends at one of five regional competitions in Goshen, Hammond, Indianapolis, Mt. Vernon, and Terre Haute. Players competed as four-person teams in one of four […]

Cross-Vibbert 1/24/15

Annotations by Sean Vibbert 1.c4 I was expecting to see the English opening at some point in this tournament, and I had plans to not allow the symmetrical variation. 1…c5 2.g3 Nf6 3.Bg2 Nc6 4.Nf3 d5 This is one of the only lines that avoids the symmetrical variation and gives an imbalance to the position. […]

2015 Individual State Finals

Nearly 300 players participated at the 26th Annual SCI Individual State Finals on January 24, 2015 at Pike High School in Indianapolis.  Champions were crowned in seven divisions based on grade and rating.  Six of the seven divisions were won with a perfect score. In the 12th & Under Championship division, senior Sean Vibbert was […]

Hammond Regional

Over 100 players qualified today at the Hammond Regional for the 2015 SCI Individual State Finals on January 24, 2015.  Hammond is again the largest regional this year with more than 340 players registered.  Six players were undefeated on route to qualifying.  David Vogel was 3-0 in the 12th & Under Championship division, Devin Gronkiewicz was 4-0 […]

Scholastic Chess of Indiana © 2015 Frontier Theme