Scholastic Chess of Indiana

Individual Championship Results

SCI concluded the 28th annual Individual Scholastic Championships at Pike High School in Indianapolis on Saturday.  $4000 in scholarships were awarded to three, first-time winners in SCI events.

Daniel Rickert was undefeated at 4-0 in the 12th & under championship division to claim the Paul “Teddy” Jacobi Scholarship of $2000.  In the 8th & under championship division, Nikhil Datar edged out Braydon Povinelli, both with 3.5/4 points, on tie breaks to earn the $1000 Billy Colias Scholarship.  The final $1000 Brian Yamin Scholarship went to William Ruszkowski in the 6th & under section.  Ruszkowski scored an impressive 5-0, undefeated score.

Other winners included Edward Grandon in the 3rd & under division with a score of 5.5 of 6 points, Ankush Dhawan overcame a three-way tie at 4.5/5 points in the 12th & under division to win on tie-breaks, Gideon Fulton turned in an undefeated score with 5/5 points in the 8th & under JV division, and Ajitesh Lalam was also undefeated in winning the 6th & under JV section with 6 points.

Special thanks to Joe Riegsecker, Roger Norris, Jeff Spitler, and John Pimentel who helped to direct the event.  Special thanks also to Jerry Ritchie and the Pike Chess Club for another amazing year as our hosts.

Full results can be found here.