Scholastic Chess of Indiana

2016 Team Finals – Four Teams Crowned

Nearly 700 scholastic players, representing more than 150 teams, gathered at Morton High School in Hammond this past weekend to compete for the title of Team Champion in four divisions.

In the 12th grade & under division, top-seeded Canterbury School (Ft. Wayne) won with a perfect 5-0 in match points.  Team members were Jonathan Zhou, Sam Witwer, Ricky Lou, and Mark Alvarez.  Carmel High School and West Lafayette High School rounded out the top three.

Canterbury School was also crowned champions of the 8th grade & under division by winning all five matches.  In fact three of the four boards also turned in perfect 5-0 score to dominate the competition.  Team members were Teddy Tsai, Peishanika Arnold, Jonathan Bowen, and Mate Mayer.  Creekside Middle School (Carmel) and Gavit Middle School (Hammond) completed the top three.

In the 6th grade & under division, Happy Hollow Elementary School (Lafayette) was crowned champions after winning 4.5 out of 5 matches.  Team members were Kevin Xiang, Recep Alyamac, Lily Shen, and Brendan Duffy.  Second and third place went to University Elementary (Bloomington) and Mt. Vernon Jr. High (Mt. Vernon) respectively, both with four out of five match points.

The 3rd grade & under section ended with an unusual three-way tie at the top, all three teams with five out of six match points.  On tie breaks, Cumberlain Elementary School (West Lafayette) beat out Canterbury School and Marrs Elementary School (Mt. Vernon) to be crowned champions.  Team members were Michael Bao, Jasper Xaing, Yun Yeung, and Kevin Ji.

A huge thank you goes out to all of the wonderful volunteers at Morton High School. The local site coordinator was Cindy Murphy.  The chief tournament director was Scott Reisinger.  FULL RESULTS can be found here.  The USCF rating report can be found here.