Scholastic Chess of Indiana

2016 Individual Championships Final Results

Full results of this weekend’s Individual Championships are now posted here.  Congratulations to the nearly 300 players that qualified at the regional level to compete in this event.  $4000 in scholarships were awarded to winners of the championship sections.

In the 12th grade & Under, Sam Witwer won 3.5/4 to claim the Paul “Teddy” Jocobi $2000 scholarship.  Sam will also be the Indiana representative to the Denker Tournament of High School Champions this summer in Indianapolis.

In the 8th grade Under, two players tied with a perfect 4-0 score.  Kevin Wang and Nikhil Datar are co-champions this year with Wang winning the $1000 Billy Colias scholarship on tie-breakers.

The 6th grade & Under section also saw a tie between two players scoring 4.5/5.  Top seeded Max Egan and Srisanth Malpeddi played to a draw in the final round and are co-champions this year in the 6th and under division.  On tie-breaks, Egan was awarded the $1000 Brian Yamin scholarship.

A huge thanks to our tournament staff that made this event possible.  Terry Vibert made viewing the pairings and standings online possible.  Jerry Ritchie was the site coordinator.  Tracey Vibbert was the Chief Tournament Director.  The full rating report is now available online.


  1. Scott on January 25, 2016 at 1:34 pm

    Looks like the standings for the 6U Championship group are loaded for both Championship & JV.
    Please correct.
    Thank you.

    • admin on January 25, 2016 at 7:07 pm

      Ok, sorry about that. Should be fixed now.