Scholastic Chess of Indiana

2015 Team State Finals

Over 600 players assembled at Woodrow Wilson Middle School in Terre Haute to compete for the 2015 SCI Team Championships on March 21, 2015. Teams qualified over the past several weekends at one of five regional competitions in Goshen, Hammond, Indianapolis, Mt. Vernon, and Terre Haute. Players competed as four-person teams in one of four divisions. The competition was tough and after a long day in Terre Haute, four teams were crowned champions.

In the 12th grade and under division, the top two seed emerged to play for the championship during the final round. Carmel High School was behind entering the round, but players Kevin Mi, Sam Philleo, Joseph Philleo, and Matthew Pittler swept the Canterbury team to win the title by a half a match point. Pittler turned in a perfect 5-0 score on the day anchoring the Carmel team.

In the 8th grade and under division, Canterbury not only scored a perfect 5-0 match record, but all four players also were a perfect 5-0 on the day. Team members for Canterbury were Sam Witwer, Teddy Tsai, Peishanika Arnold, and Mate Mayer. West Lafayette Jr. High and Woodrow Wilson Middle School were second and third respectively.

Towne Meadow Elementary was the only other team scoring a perfect score and did so in the 6th grade and under section. Team members were Lucas Ouimette, Viswan Jayasankar, Krish Jayarapu, Aneesh Dasgupta, and Krishn Jayasankar. Several other 6th and under participants turned in undefeated 5-0 scores for their teams. These players were Daniel Mukhin (Fishback Creek Elementary) and Kevin Xiang (Happy Hollow) playing on boar one, Marin Gronkiewicz (Elliot) on board two, Deborah Mattingly (Marrs) on board three, and Dane Koontz (Madison) on board four.

In the 3rd grade and under section, team members Naitik Rambhia, Allison Johnson, Jake Cero, and Maxwell Kitchell led Eagle Elementary to the championship scoring 5.5 out of 6 match points. Kitchell anchored the team on board four with a perfect 6-0 score.

The Chief Tournament Director was Scott Reisinger, assisted by Terry Vibbert, Tracey Vibbert, Roger Norris, and Ernie Wright. The local site coordinator was Olivia Goulding.